Från International Fiscal Association (IFA)

I anledning av IFA:s kongress i Stockholm hösten 1967 meddelas härmed förutsättningarna för deltagande i tävlingen om "The Mitchell B. Carrol Prize".

- 1. The prize shall be awarded for a typewritten or printed paper devoted to international taxation or comparative law. In even years (1968, 1970) it will be awarded for a work of legal nature and in odd years (1967, 1969) for one of an economic character.
- 2. All persons under 35 years of age on the 31st July of the year in question may compete whether they are members of the Association or not.
- 3. The paper must not have been printed more than 2 years previously, and if it is a thesis for a doctor's degree, the defence of it must not have taken place more than 2 years previously, this period being counted from the 1st of January of the year of printing or defence of thesis.
- 4. Papers may be entered by the authors themselves, but the national branches of I.F.A. or even individual members, domiciled in countries where a national branch is lacking, may submit papers not directly submitted by the authors of them.
- 5. The Jury shall only accept original work making either a theorectical or a practical contribution to the study of the effects of taxation, whether it concerns international taxation or comparative tax law.

- 6. Only papers written in one of the three official languages of I.F.A. (English French and German) will be accepted for the competition.
- 7. The Jury is made up in such a way that its decisions are based on some continuity of opinion:
- 3 members are appointed for six years: one jurist, one economist and one professional man (e.g. barrister, civil servant). These members can be re-appointed on expiry of their term;
- —2 members appointed each year, for one competition only, jurists for even years and economists for odd years.
- 8. There is no restriction on the number of pages of the paper. No precise subject is laid down for the candidates.
- 9. The winner shall receive a medal and an invitation to attend the congress during wich the prize is awarded. Upon application by him, a contribution not exceeding U.S. \$ 200,— shall be granted towards the expensis, entailed by this attendance at the congress.
- 10. The Jury's decision shall be made known at least two months before the prize is awarded in order to make it possible for the winner to attend the congress.
- 11. Papers entered for the prize for a given year must be submitted to the Jury in sevenfold before or on the 1st of May of the year in question.
- 12. Address of the Jury: General Secretariat of I.F.A., c/o Amsterdam-Rotterdam Bank N.V., 43 Rokin, Amsterdam-C., Notherlands. President of the Jury is Professor Jean Baugniet, Pro-Recteur de l'Université Libre de Bruzelles, Belgium.